Minutes of Risk Theory Society Annual Meeting

Iowa City, IA April 20, 2024

President Petra Steinorth called the meeting to order at approximately 4:11 pm.

Approval of the Minutes

The President called for the approval of the minutes of the 2023 meeting. David Eckles moved that the minutes be approved. The motion was seconded by Richard Peter and the minutes were unanimously approved by a show of hands.

Program, Attendance and Membership

Thomas reported that 55 papers were submitted for the conference. The program committee consisting of Stephen Shore (Past-President), Petra Steinorth (President), and Thomas Berry-Stoelzle (Secretary) selected ten papers for the program. Two papers were withdrawn, one the week before the seminar, and one paper was added resulting in nine papers on the final program.

A total of 55 people attended the meeting. The attendance consisted of 40 existing members, 10 new members, and 5 invited guests. The 10 new members of the Society are: Pierre Chaigneau, Evan Eastman, Julia Holzapfel, Lynn Hua, Kyeonghee Kim, Wei Li, Dan Sacks, Adam Solomon, Univa Song, and Florian Weinlich. The new members were applauded by those assembled.

Having missed two consecutive meetings, 4 members lost their membership in the Society: Anastasios Dosis, Arnaud Goussebaile, Jim Hilliard, and Sebastian Hinck.

Thomas further reported that Alexander Muermann became the newest Life Member.

The Society currently has 105 members, of whom 39 are Life Members and 66 are regular members.

Treasurer's Report

Gene Lai gave the Treasurer's Report. After noting that this is usually the "easiest job," he indicated that it took him a bit longer than usual to get a status report on the RTS account from the ARIA office. Gene reported that, as of April 2023, RTS had a balance of \$4,148. The balance is currently \$4,368. There were no expenditures this year.

Future Meetings

Martin Boyer offered comments and extended his welcome to RTS members for the 2025 meeting in Montréal. Martin noted that the dates will be May 2 –4, 2025.

Nominations for the site of 2026 Meeting were opened.

Brad Karl offered Florida State University. Brad presented a slide show of all that FSU has to offer, including plans to have a brand-new building open in the fall of 2025. Randy Dumm motioned that the 2026 meeting be held at FSU. Keith Crocker seconded the motion and after a brief discussion, the motion passed unanimously.

Election of the Secretary

President Steinorth asked for nominees for the position of Secretary of the Society. Two candidates were nominated:

Cameron Ellis (by Patty Born; seconded by Dani Bauer) Richard Peter (by Anita Mukherjee; seconded by Cameron Ellis)

Following supportive discussion for both candidates, Richard Peter was elected Secretary of the Risk Theory Society for the upcoming year.

New Business

Martin Boyer reminded membership to consider submitting papers to the ARIA/ASSA session in January 2025. The deadline for submissions is June 7, 2024.

Joan Schmit spoke on behalf of the JRI and was pleased with the outcome of the dual submission program. Thomas expressed his support for the dual submission option and highlighted that it is completely voluntary and that approximately 10 of the 55 submissions to the meeting took advantage of a dual submission to the JRI. A motion was made and seconded to extend the program another year conditional on the new editor of the JRI, who will start in January, supporting this option. After a show of hands, the motion passed with a clear majority.

Closing Remarks

Keith Crocker thanked the team from the University of Iowa for hosting.

Petra Steinorth thanked Stephen Shore for his service. Finally, Petra thanked the local organizers.

After directions from Thomas regarding dinner, Lars Powell moved to adjourn, Cameron Ellis seconded, and the meeting adjourned at approximately 4:45pm.

Meeting Statistics

Year	Members	Attendance	Submissions
2005	67	33	32
2006	66	39	49
2007	70	51	60
2008	75	42	43
2009	71	41	54
2010	73	43	42
2011	83	54	57
2012	90	52	54
2013	92	68	44
2014	98	58	42
2015	99	58	69
2016	101	62	55
2017	106	56	38
2018	104	63	45
2019	103	64	40
2020	Corona		
2021	106	77	20
2022	107	38	26
2023	99	62	54
2024	105	55	55