ARIA Excellence in Teaching Award

The Excellence in Teaching Award was initiated in 2007 by the New Awards Committee. This award recognizes excellence in risk management and insurance teaching. Applicants/nominees should have a distinguished record of excellent teaching throughout their academic career. Nominations for the award are welcome. An individual may be nominated by a colleague, who then must confirm with the nominee that they are willing to provide the required materials. A letter outlining the reasons for the nomination will serve as the required letter of recommendation from a colleague. 

This award will be presented only in years when an exceptional candidate is identified. 

Note: If a candidate is not selected during the first year that his/her application is submitted for consideration, the candidate may request that his/her application remain in the pool for consideration in the following year. A candidate’s application may remain in the pool without amendment for a maximum of two additional years after the year in which it is first submitted. 

The 2021 call for applications and nominations is now open. Download further information and the application here. 

Award Recipients

Recent recipients of the Excellence in Teaching Award include:

David Russell, California State University, Northridge

Stephen Avila, Ball State University

Charles Nyce, Florida State University

Nathaniel Pope, Illinois State University

Andre Liebenberg, The University of Mississippi

Rob Drennan, Temple University

Patrick Brockett, University of Texas-Austin

William Rabel, University of Alabama

James Garven, Baylor University

Mark Browne, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Rob Hoyt, University of Georgia