Les B. Strickler Innovation in Instruction Award

Dr. Lester B. Strickler, wishing to encourage ARIA members to share their ideas about teaching, in 1990 endowed an annual award to be used to encourage creativity and sharing of developments that would improve the quality of risk and insurance education. His gift was the first permanent endowment in the history of ARIA.

Dr. Strickler received his bachelor’s and master’s degrees from Pennsylvania State University in economics and his doctoral degree from Indiana University in finance. He was a professor of finance at Oregon State University for many years before his retirement in 1986, teaching primarily insurance and business finance. He was the author of several consumer-oriented articles about insurance and an active commentator on issues concerning public pension plans. Dr. Strickler was a founder of the Financial Management Association and served as President of the Western Finance Association and as President of the Western Risk and Insurance Association

The Call for Proposals for the 2021 Les B. Strickler Innovation in Instruction Award for 2021 is now closed.

Award Recipients

Recent recipients of the Les B. Strickler Innovation in Instruction Award include:

Not awarded

Steven Miller, University of South Florida Sarasota-Manatee
David Sommer, St. Mary’s University
“Risk Financing Simulation Exercises: From a Single Risk to ERM”

Martin Eling and Students, University of St. Gallen
Martin Lehmann, Vera Lüchinger, Sara Maria Nordt
“Toolbox for Gamification in Insurance Education”

David Eckles, University of Georgia
“Insurance Pub Trivia”

Faculty and Students, University of St. Gallen
Educational Smartphone App — “Optimal Insurance Demand for Students”

Vickie Bajtelsmit, Colorado State University
Jennifer Coats, Colorado State University
“The Effect of Frequency and Severity on Insurance and Risk Management Decisions: A Classroom Exercise”

Alexander Braun, University of St. Gallen
“Insurance-Linked Securities”

David Eckles, University of Georgia
“One Dollar Bob Simulation”

Joseph Haley, St. Cloud State University
“An Insurance Pricing Game”

James Hilliard, University of Georgia
Ronald Licata, University of Connecticut School of Business
“Brown Dog Brewing Company: Case Study for Risk Management and Insurance”

Norma Nielson, University of Calgary
Brian Kitching, University of Calgary
Janet Stein, University of Calgary
“Tabletop Disaster Exercise”

William and Tamela Ferguson, University of Louisiana at Lafayette
“Strategic Market Entry Project”

Click here to view Award Winners from 2008 – 1991