RMIR Award

The RMIR Award is given to the best article in the Risk Management and Insurance Review.

Award Recipients

Recent recipients of the RMIR Award include:

The Governance of Risk Management: The Importance of Directors’ Independence and Financial Knowledge
Georges Dionne, HEC Montreal
Olfa Maalaoui Chun, Bloomberg LP, NY
Thouraya Triki, International Fund for Agriculture Development

Derrick Fung, Hang Seng University of Hong Kong
Jason Yeh, The Chinese University of Hong Kong
“Inherent Virtue or Inevitable Evil: The Effects of Directors’ and Officers’ Insurance on Firm Value”
RMIR, Volume 21, Number 2, Pages 243-288, September 2018

Jeffrey Czajkowski, University of Pennsylvania
Kevin M. Simmons, Austin College
James M. Done, University Corporation for Atmospheric Research
“Demonstrating the Intensive Benefit to the Local Implementation of a Statewide Building Code”
RMIR, Volume 20, Number 3, Pages 363-390, December 2017

Barry Mulholland, Texas Tech University
Michael Finke, The American College of Financial Services
Sandra Huston, Texas Tech University
“Understanding the Shift in Demand for Cash Value Life Insurance”
RMIR, Volume 19, Number 1, Pages 7-36, Spring 2016

Stephanie Meyr, Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität
Sharon Tennyson, Cornell University
“Product Ratings as a Market Reaction to Deregulation: Evidence From the German Insurance Market”
RMIR, Volume 18, Issue 1, pages 77-100, 2015

Lorilee Medders, Florida State University
Charles Nyce, Florida State University
J. Bradley Karl, East Carolina University
“Market Implications of Public Policy Interventions: The Case of Florida’s Property Insurance Market”
RMIR, Vol. 17, Issue 2, pgs. 183-214, Fall 2014

Gaobo Pang, American Enterprise Institute
Towers Watson, American Enterprise Institute
Mark Warshawsky, American Enterprise Institute
“Comparing Costs and Risks of Retirement Plans for Sponsors”
RMIR, 2013, Vol. 16, No. 2, 195-217

Best Feature Award:
“Disability Risk Management and Post injury Employment of Workers with Back Pain”
Risk Management and Insurance Review, 15(1): 35-55
William G. Johnson, Arizona State University
Richard J. Butler, Brigham Young University
Marjorie L. Baldwin, Arizona State University
Pierre Cote, Toronto Western Hospital

Perspectives Award:
“What Do We Know About Market Discipline in Insurance?”
Risk Management and Insurance Review, 15(2): 185-224
Martin Eling, Institute of Insurance Economics, University of St. Gallen

Best Feature Award:
“The Impact of Rate Regulation on Claims Evidence from Massachusetts Automobile Insurance”
RMIR Fall 2011, V. 14 #2, pp. 173-199
Richard A. Derrig, OPAL Consulting LLC
Sharon Tennyson, Cornell University

Perspectives Award:
“The Use of Postloss Financing of Catastrophic Risk”
RMIR Fall 2011, V. 14 #2, pp. 265-298
Cassandra Cole, Florida State University
David Macpherson, Trinity University
Patrick Maroney, Florida State University
Kathleen McCullough, Florida State University
James Newman, Jr., Sawgrass Mutual Insurance Co
Charles Nyce, Florida State University

Best Feature Award:
“First-Party versus Third-Party Compensation for Automobile Accidents: Evidence from Canada”
RMIR Spring 2010, 13:1, pp. 21-44
Mary Kelly, Wilfrid Laurier University
Anne Kleffner, University of Calgary
Maureen Tomlinson, The Economical Insurance Group

Perspectives Award:
“The Secondary Market for Life Insurance in the United Kingdom”
RMIR Fall 2010, 13:2, pp. 279-301
Nadine Gatzert, University of Erlangen Nurnberg

Best Feature Award:
“Do State Cost Control Policies Reduce Medicaid Prescription Drug Spending?”
RMIR Spring 2009, V. 12 #1, pp. 39-66
Kosali Simon, Cornell University
Sharon Tennyson, Cornell University
Julie Hudman, D.C. Dept. of Health Care Finance

Perspectives Award:
“The Perfect Storm: Hurricanes, Insurance, and Regulation”
RMIR Spring 2009, V. 12 #1, pp. 81-124
Martin Grace, Georgia State University
Robert Klein, Georgia State University

Best Feature Award:
“Intangible Assets and Firm Asset Risk Taking: An Analysis of Property and Liability Insurance Firms”
RMIR, Spring 2008, V. 11 #1, pp. 157-178
Tong Yu, University of Rhode Island
Bingxuan Lin, University of Rhode Island
Henry Oppenheimer, University of Rhode Island
Xuanjuan Chen, Kansas State University

Click here to view Award Winners from 2008 – 1997