Hagen Family Foundation Travel Award

This award was initiated in 2009. The objective of the award is “to extend the opportunity to attend the ARIA meeting to those who would not otherwise attend, yet would benefit from the interaction with their peers.” Awards of up to $1,500 each will be granted to faculty and/or doctoral students who attend and present a paper at the Annual Meeting. To be eligible for a travel award, an applicant must:

  • Be a faculty member or Ph.D. student from a U.S. or foreign university
  • Have a research presentation accepted for the current year’s ARIA meeting program
  • Indicate a lack of funding from their institution for the purpose of attending the ARIA meeting

The deadline for application is April 1, 2023. 
For further information, please refer to the documents below:

Hagen Award Full Announcement

Hagen Family Foundation Travel Award Application Form

2023 Winner - Hamza Essaidi, University of Hawaii

Past Winners

  • 2022 - Vaibhav Anand, University of Wisconsin-Madison
  • 2021 - None due to virtual meeting
  • 2020 - Juan Zhang, Eastern Kentucky University
  • 2019 - Chenyuan Liu, University of Wisconsin-Madison
  • 2018 - Sangyong Han, East Stroudsburg University
  • 2017 - Sebastian Schluetter, Mainz University of Applied Sciences
  • 2016 - Evan Eastman, University of Georgia
  • 2015 - Chia-Chun Chiang, University of South Carolina
  • 2014 - Sebastian Soika, Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München
  • 2013 - Willie Dion Reddic, Syracuse University
  • 2012 - Tzuting Lin, National Taiwan University
  • 2011 - Yunjie (Winnie) Sun, University of Wisconsin-Madison
  • 2010 - Sojung Park, California State University, Fullerton
  • 2009 - Jing Ai, University of Hawaii at Manoa