Kulp-Wright Book Award

The Kulp-Wright Book Award will be awarded to a book published in the field of Risk and Insurance that advances frontiers of knowledge in our field. Generally only books and monographs are considered eligible for the award. Award winner(s) receives an award certificate at the ARIA annual meeting. The selection committee will recommend one book in risk management and insurance published two calendar years before the award is presented. 

The call for 2024 nominations is currently open!

  • Nominate books published in 2022
  • Submit nominations to Krupa Viswanathan, Committee Chair, at: [email protected]
  • Deadline: March 8, 2024

Past Winners

  • 2023: Peter Zweifel, University of Zurich; Roland Eisen, Goethe University Frankfurt; David Eckles, University of Georgia: Insurance Economics, 2nd edition
  • 2022: Olivia Mitchell & Annamaria Lusardi, Remaking Retirement: Debt in an Aging Economy
  • 2021: Georges Dionne, Corporate Risk Management: Theories and Applications
  • 2020: Kip Viscusi, Pricing Lives: Guideposts for a Safer Society
  • 2019: Guy Thomas, Loss Coverage: Why Insurance Works Better with Some Adverse Selection
  • 2018: Edward W. Frees, Richard A. Derrig, and Glenn Meyers, Predictive Modeling Applications in Actuarial Science: Case Studies in Insurance
  • 2017: Moshe Milevsky, King William's Tontine: Why the Retirement Annuity of the Future Should Resemble its Past
  • 2016: Olivier Le Courtois and Christian Walter, Extreme Financial Risks and Asset Allocation
  • 2015: Georges Dionne, Handbook of Insurance published by Springer
  • 2014: Peter Zweifel and Roland Eisen, Insurance Economics
  • 2013: Michael Powers, Acts of God and Man: Ruminations on Risk and Insurance
  • 2012: Francis Diebold, Neil Doherty and Richard Herring, The Known, the Unknown, and the Unknowable in Financial Risk Management