Les. B. Strickler Innovation in Teaching

The President selects the Chairperson of the committee. The President and Chairperson (prior to November 1) will select a committee consisting of at least six ARIA members (including the Chairperson). The committee will invite ARIA members and others interested in risk management and insurance education to submit proposals detailing innovative ideas that they have developed and used in risk and insurance instruction. The criteria for selection of award winners is creativity, content, transferability of the approach to other institutions, and documented potential for improving the quality of risk and insurance education. The committee will advertise the opportunity, describing the submission requirements, the award criteria, and the deadline for submissions, on the website, and anywhere else deemed desirable by the committee. The committee actively seeks to generate a high number of strong submissions each year. Committee members will evaluate each submission using a rating system developed by the Chairperson. If no consensus exists after the first evaluation, leading candidates will be rated again by the committee. The Chairperson will determine the final recommendation based on the results of the evaluation(s). The deadline for the award recommendation is March 31.  The recommendation is subject to approval by the ARIA Board. The winner will be notified upon approval by the Board. Award winners will be announced at the annual meeting and receive a certificate prepared by the ARIA Executive Office as well as a monetary award of $1,000. They may be asked to make a presentation of their innovation at the annual meeting.

The 2021 Winner was:

The 2019 Winners were:


Risk Financing Simulation Exercises: From a Single Risk to ERM

  • Steven Miller, University of South Florida Sarasota-Manatee
  • David Sommer, St. Mary's University