Hedges Undergraduate Student Award

The President selects the Chairperson of the committee and together they will select a Committee consisting of at least three ARIA members. The Committee will publicize the Robert Hedges Scholarship to identify an undergraduate to receive a scholarship to attend the ARIA annual meeting.  The deadline for scholarship recommendation is April 1. The scholarship winner is subject to ARIA Board approval.  The winner will be notified upon approval by the Board, and will receive a certificate and a cash scholarship at the ARIA annual meeting. Award Amount: Free annual meeting registration; travel and hotel expenses ($1,000 maximum) to attend ARIA annual meeting.

Past Winners

  • 2022 Not awarded
  • 2021 Not awarded due to virtual meeting
  • 2020 Not awarded due to virtual meeting
  • 2019 The award was not offered in 2019
  • 2018 Ngoc-Tran (Tracey) Tran, Temple University
  • 2017 Frank Sciortino, St. John’s University
  • 2016 Paul Gretzer, Temple University
  • 2015 Giovanni Adiletta, Temple University
  • 2014 Juliane Gutsmiedl, Ludwig-Maximillians Universität Münich
  • 2013 Justin LoPiccolo, Temple University
  • 2012 Adam Hensen, University of North Texas
  • 2011 Yunjie (Winnie) Sun, University of Wisconsin - Madison
  • 2010 Zachary H. Browne, Wharton School, University of PA
  • 2009 Mariya Skovardanova, Georgia State University
  • 2008 Karyn Droessler, University of Iowa
  • 2007 Grace Chi, Florida State University
  • 2006 Jeffrey Partlow, Ohio State University
  • 2005 Bernard Vanden Avond, University of Wisconsin Madison
  • 2004 Jane Girtman, Florida State University
  • 2003 Scott Buchholz, University of Georgia